MITL
Metropolitan Interclub Tennis League

Latest Headlines


Congratulations to 2019 Barbara Williams Cup Participants & Winners!
Congratulations to 2019 Flight Winners!
Everything (almost) you need to know about the MITL website, but were afraid to ask...
How to Challenge a Call
Court of Appeals: False Stop
Court of Appeals: Clean Your Court!
Court of Appeals: Boxed In
2019 IMPORTANT DATES
2019 CAPTAIN REGISTRATION IS NOW OPEN!
REGISTER ON-LINE NOW FOR THE 2019 OPENING ROUND ROBIN & LUNCHEON
INSTRUCTIONS FOR SUBMITTING ROSTERS... TEAM ROSTERS DUE BY APRIL 15
DON'T PULL OUT YOUR HAIR! Entering Your Roster is Easy... just follow these simple steps!
CAPTAINS CAN NOW ADD PLAYERS TO THEIR ROSTERS AND VIEW SCHEDULES!
REGISTER NOW FOR THE 2019 BARBARA WILLIAMS CUP, JULY 8-9
New Teams for the 2020 Season
FUNDRAISER INFO

Court of Appeals: False Stop

I called a baseline shot “out” loudly at the same time as I returned it. My shot went in, but my opponent had stopped playing. I realized her shot had hit my baseline and reversed my call. I wanted to play a let since she had stopped play after my “out” call. Was I right?—Mary Jones

Not anymore. Up until the USTA approved a rule change in September 2010, a let would have resulted from the situation you described. But now The Code, Item 12, says that “a player who calls a ball out shall reverse the call if the player becomes uncertain or realizes that the ball was good. The point goes to the opponent and is not replayed.”

Except where noted, answers are based on the ITF Rules of Tennis and USTA's The Code.

Source: tennis .com


Online Scoring & League Management System
© 2008-2019. All Rights Reserved.
> Contact Us
> About Us
> Privacy
> Terms & Conditions
Also check out our other platforms