MITL
Metropolitan Interclub Tennis League

Latest Headlines


Congratulations to 2019 Barbara Williams Cup Participants & Winners!
Congratulations to 2019 Flight Winners!
Everything (almost) you need to know about the MITL website, but were afraid to ask...
How to Challenge a Call
Court of Appeals: False Stop
Court of Appeals: Clean Your Court!
Court of Appeals: Boxed In
2019 IMPORTANT DATES
2019 CAPTAIN REGISTRATION IS NOW OPEN!
REGISTER ON-LINE NOW FOR THE 2019 OPENING ROUND ROBIN & LUNCHEON
INSTRUCTIONS FOR SUBMITTING ROSTERS... TEAM ROSTERS DUE BY APRIL 15
DON'T PULL OUT YOUR HAIR! Entering Your Roster is Easy... just follow these simple steps!
CAPTAINS CAN NOW ADD PLAYERS TO THEIR ROSTERS AND VIEW SCHEDULES!
REGISTER NOW FOR THE 2019 BARBARA WILLIAMS CUP, JULY 8-9
New Teams for the 2020 Season
FUNDRAISER INFO

Court of Appeals: Boxed In

My partner, who’s prone to double-faulting, was preparing to serve to the deuce court. The receiver’s partner stood with both feet in the service box. I complained that standing there was done solely to distract the server. He replied that he could stand wherever he wants. Who was right?—Eric Lee, Albany, CA

Not you. Rule 26, Case 5, says the receiver’s partner “may take any position on their own side of the net inside the net or outside the court.” That includes inside the service box. However, it further says that if the player “is creating a hindrance to the opponent(s), the hindrance rule should be used.” As you described it, the receiver’s partner was doing nothing other than standing there; no stomping of the feet, no waving of the racquet, etc. So he’s legit. Of course, your partner can always try to hit the opponent with a serve, but it doesn’t sound like he’s accurate enough.

Source: tennis.com


Online Scoring & League Management System
© 2008-2019. All Rights Reserved.
> Contact Us
> About Us
> Privacy
> Terms & Conditions
Also check out our other platforms